Driving Without Insurance in Texas
The number of uninsured drivers on the road in Dallas County has gone up in the last few years. According to the Texas Department of Insurance, 1 in 6 Dallas County drivers have no insurance. That is over 16%! Across Texas, 14% of drivers are on the road without insurance. More than 2.5 million Texans are not in compliance with the mandatory insurance law. Because an accident with an uninsured motorist can turn your life around, even one driver on the road without insurance is too big a risk.
Some blame rising insurance rates that low-income residents just can’t afford to pay. Texas requires minimum liability coverage, which can be inexpensive, but still many drivers are going without. But going without insurance is a huge risk and can be extremely pricey. In Dallas, uninsured vehicles are towed if the driver is stopped for any reason or is in an accident. Drivers without insurance who are pulled over and ticketed face a fine of up to $350 on the first offense, and up to $1,000 on the second offense. Uninsured drivers can also lose their license on a second offense. And that is not even getting into the cost and stress of a lawsuit if an accident occurs.
Texas has tried several programs over the years to boost compliance with the mandatory insurance law, but still the number of uninsured drivers is climbing. This puts everyone in danger. Many Texans are paying for uninsured-motorist coverage to protect themselves from uninsured drivers on the road.
If you or someone you know has been injured or killed by an uninsured driver, an experienced car accident attorney can help you get the compensation you deserve.
Read the original article here.